About Deirdre the Dragoness

Deirdre the Dragoness Deirdre the Dragoness entered my life in about 1992. My then girl friend Ulrike Wolk presented a lovely gray jumper to me on which she had painted a rather large, rather green dragoness.

That Deidre was a dragoness was obvious to me immediately after looking into her wide eyes.

Deirdre got her name from Elisabeth H. Bullamore, a student I shared a hall with during my studies in England in 1993. According to her, pets should have a name starting with the same letter as the animal itself. Well, the first uncommon name we could think of was ... Deirdre.

The Dragoness has been designed by Ulrike Wolk together with Martina Baumann, who has also made some other creative presents as for instance a handcrafted Hagar-the-Horrible-Mobile.

Since then, Deirdre has become a part of my life and she not only decorates my jumper but also my stationary, my business cards and my web site. She exists as a MetaFont-Font and in a number of bitmap formats.

This summer, Deirdre has also conquered this world's third dimension - courtsey of SZ-Magazin's "Hammeraktion" and Trickfilmstudio Anima, Hamburg. I was able to spend a whole day there working on a clay figure animation film, and with professional supervision by Mrs. Matthaei and Mr. Zapletal, the 25 second epos "Deirdre the Dragoness" came into existence. Find out more here.

By the way: Deirdre's design is © Ulrike Wolk and I am the only one authorised to use it.

Deirdre the Dragoness

Homepage Deutsch

Send mail to webmaster @ ohlhaut.de with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 2005 Marcus W. Ohlhaut
Last modified: 17.01.2005

Valid HTML 3.2!

Über die Drachin Deirdre

Die Drachin Deirdre Die Drachin Deirdre trat ungefähr 1992 in mein Leben. Damals habe ich von meiner damaligen Freundin Ulrike Wolk ein wunderschönes graues Sweat-Shirt geschenkt bekommen, auf das eine ziemlich große, ziemlich grüne Drachin gemalt war.

Daß es sich bei Deirdre um eine Drachin handelt, war mir nach einem Blick in ihre Kullleraugen sofort klar.

Ihren Namen hat Deirdre von Elisabeth H. Bullamore, mit der ich während meines England-Studiums 1993 im gleichen Wohnheim gewohnt habe. Ihrer Meinung nach müssen die Namen von Haus- und Plüschtieren mit dem gleichen Buchstaben beginnen wie die Tierbezeichnung. Und der erste, nicht alltägliche Name, der uns eingefallen ist, war ... Deirdre.

Entworfen wurde die Drachin von Ulrike Wolk zusammen mit Martina Baumann, der ich neben Deirdre auch noch andere kreative Geschenke wie zum Beispiel ein handgearbeitetes Hägar-der-Schreckliche-Mobile verdanke.

Deirdre begleitet mich seitdem auf meinem Lebensweg und schmückt mittlerweile nicht nur mein Sweat-Shirt, sondern auch mein Briefpapier, meine Visitenkarte und meine Website. Sie gibt es als MetaFont-Zeichensatz sowie in verschiedenen Bitmap-Ausprägungen.

Im Sommer 2001 hat Deirdre auch die dritte Dimension dieser Welt erobert - dank der "Hammeraktion" des SZ-Magazins und dem Hamburger Trickfilmstudio Anima. Ich konnte dort einen ganzen Tag an einem Knetfiguren-Tickfilm arbeiten, und unter fachkundiger Anleitung durch Frau Matthaei und Herrn Zapletal entstand "Deirdre the Dragoness" als 25-Sekunden-Epos. Mehr dazu hier.

Übrigens: Das Design von Deirdre ist © Ulrike Wolk und nur ich darf es benutzen.

Die Drachin Deirdre

Homepage English

Anfragen und Hinweise zu dieser Website senden Sie bitte per Mail an webmaster @ ohlhaut.de.
Copyright © 2016 Marcus W. Ohlhaut
Letzte Änderung: 31.01.2016

Valid HTML 3.2!